top of page

Long feng style cuttlefish

Updated: Apr 21, 2020

Serves as a Starter/appetiser

Hot butter cuttle fish Long feng style, first discovered at Cinnamon lakeside hotel,

Sri-lanka. It's one of my highlight when ever I go to Sri-Lanka. I will never miss an opportunity to make a visit. In fact I have lot of history behind this hotel. I have worked and got married in this very Hotel. If I'm in Colombo for any reason, my first stop would be here and all I eat is the hot butter cuttle fish at Long Feng Chinese Restaurant. I have tried this dish in so many restaurants all over Sri-Lanka. But nothing compares to the cuttlefish in Long Feng.

I'm pleased to present this recipe, which I came very close to the original long feng cuttlefish.


Ingredients


For the cuttle fish

  • 200 g of Fresh Cuttlefish

  • 1/2 tsp of Salt

  • 1 Egg White

  • 200 g of Corn Flour


For the Sauce

  • 1/4 tsp of Tumeric Powder

  • 2 tbsp of crushed Garlic

  • 1 tbsp of Butter

  • 1/2 tsp of Sugar

  • 1 tbsp of Chili Paste

  • 1 handful of Spring onions

  • 2 Dried chillies

  • 1 stem of fresh Lemongrass

  • 3-4 green chilli (optional if you like it spicy)

Method


Slice the cuttlefish into thin stripes and make side-way incisions. Add salt and egg white.

Make the flour mix with cornflour, tumeric and salt. Mix the egg washed cuttlefish in the flour mix and coat it well. Heat oil in a pan and fry cuttlefish for 3 minutes until golden.



Add garlic, butter, sugar, lemongrass, chilli paste together in a heated wok. Sauté a little and add spring onions and dry chilies. I like mine spicy so I add lots of sliced green chillies. Finally add the fried cuttle fish and toss till light gold colour. (about 1/2 minute)

Don't over cook this as the cuttlefish will get soggy rather than crispy.

Serve hot with this dipping sauce.



Ingredients for the dipping sauce

60ml (1/4 cup) water 60ml (1/4 cup) fish sauce 2 tbsp fresh lime juice 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar 1 tbsp brown sugar 1/2 stem lemon grass, pale section only, finely chopped or 1/2 spoon of lemongrass puree 2 long fresh red chillies, deseeded, finely chopped 1 garlic clove, crushed


Method

Combine the water, fish sauce, lime juice, vinegar, sugar, lemon grass, chilli and garlic in a jug and stir until the sugar dissolves. Serve.


If you decide to make this recipe, I would love to hear from you!

Please feel free to share your outcomes with a picture or comment below.

I'm open for suggestions and your ideas on which recipes I should put on next.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page